State of Alaska Department of Transportation & Public Facilities Office of the Commissioner

**TO:** Distribution

Signed by: FROM: Ryan Anderson Commissioner 3BFC855630834FF..

DATE: November 19, 2024

SUBJECT: Creation of FY26 Harbor Project Evaluation Committee

In 2006, the Alaska Legislature passed landmark legislation which established a 50/50 matching grant program called the Municipal Harbor Facility Grant Program (now called the Harbor Facility Grant Program). The purpose of the grant program is to recapitalize local government's small boat harbor infrastructure and further the sustainability of Alaska's public harbor system. For fiscal year 2024 (FY25), the Governor approved the capital budget of \$7 million.

Today, I am hereby creating a Harbor Project Evaluation Committee (PEC) to evaluate and rank applicants for the Department's Harbor Facility Grant Program and appointing six members to the Harbor PEC. The Harbor PEC consists of one planner representing each region, one planner representing statewide, a regional harbor maintenance representative, and a community harbormaster representative. The Harbor PEC members are:

Facilitator:	Sarah Cripe, Waterways Planner, Project Delivery
Member:	Eric Taylor, Multimodal Transportation Planning Chief, Headquarters
Member:	Elzbeth Robson, Transportation Planner, Fairbanks Field Office
Member:	Philana Miles, Transportation Planner, Anchorage Field Office
Member:	Jill Melcher, Planning Chief, Juneau Field Office
Member:	Marcus Zimmerman, Regional Maintenance Chief, Southcoast Region
Member:	Norm Regis, Harbormaster Representative, City of Seward (RETIRED)

Alaska is blessed with one of the finest harbor systems in the country, and our magnificent coastline and bountiful marine resources make our harbors vitally important to Alaskans and our communities. The Harbor Facility Grant Program is consistent with the Department's transportation mission and furthering our role in supporting community owned harbor capital projects.

Please contact Sarah Cripe at (907) 465-8769 if you have any questions about your role or responsibilities.

## DISTRIBUTION LIST

Katherine Keith, Deputy Commissioner Lauren Little, Chief Engineer, Project Delivery Judy Chapman, Deputy Director, Project Delivery Sarah Cripe, Waterways Planner, Project Delivery Eric Taylor, Multimodal Transportation Planning Chief, Headquarters Elzbeth Robson, Transportation Planner, Fairbanks Field Office Philana Miles, Transportation Planner, Anchorage Field Office Jill Melcher, Planning Chief, Juneau Field Office Marcus Zimmerman, Regional Maintenance Chief, Southcoast Region Sara Lucey, Planning Manager, Fairbanks Field Office

"Keeping Alaska Moving Through Service and Infrastructure"

David Post, Planning Manager, Anchorage Field Office Norm Regis, Harbormaster Representative, Port of Anchorage Ben White, Planning Chief, Anchorage Field Office Brett Nelson, Planning Chief, Fairbanks Field Office